LibGuides: Garrett College Library & Learning Commons: Special Collections

Digital Special Collections

Embracing Diversity
This guide provides a comprehensive collection of resources to promote understanding, inclusion, and respect for diverse cultures, identities, and perspectives. It includes books, articles, media, and campus resources designed to support learning about diversity, equity, and inclusion. Whether you’re exploring topics like race, gender, sexuality, or social justice, this guide aims to foster a more inclusive and informed campus community.
Garrett College 50th Anniversary
This guide contains information, materials, and resources on the history of Garrett College and event information in regards to the 50th Anniversary celebration.
Garrett County/Appalachian
This guide includes resources and materials detailing the history and culture of the Appalachian regions as well as Maryland, and Garrett County. The collection contains exclusive books, archives, maps, images, podcasts, and artifacts.
Indigenous Peoples of Garrett County
This guide includes resources and materials detailing the history and culture of the Indian Tribes native to Garrett County. Garrett County, and all of Maryland, historically home to a number of nomadic tribes, with experts unsure how many. However, the Youghiogheny River Band of Shawnee Indians made Garrett County their permanent home. This collection contains images, books, and monographs on not only the Youghiogheny River Band of Indians, but many of the other tribes that traveled through the county or once called Maryland home.
Library Archives
This guide serves as a digital repository for materials housed in the physical library archives.
Western Maryland Coal Talks
The Coal Talk Oral History Project includes stories, images, audio, and artifacts from Western Maryland coal communities.

Mountain Maryland Gateway to the West Heritage Area and the Maryland Heritage Area Authority

Garrett College gratefully acknowledges the Mountain Maryland Gateway to the West Heritage Area and the Maryland Heritage Area Authority for providing 2024-25 Mini-Grant funding to support the further development of The Coal Talk Oral History Collection, the Indigenous Peoples of Garrett County Collection, the Garrett County & Appalachia Collection, and the Embracing Diversity Collection. This generous support helps preserve and expand these vital resources, ensuring that the rich history, diverse voices, and cultural heritage of Garrett County and the surrounding Appalachian region remain accessible for generations to come.