LibGuides: Adventure Sports Management: Find Books & Ebooks

Featured Books

Accidents in North American Climbing by American Alpine Club (Compiled by)
Call Number: GV 199.8 .A28 2016
ISBN: 9781933056937
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Exploring Islands of Healing by Jim Schoel; Richard S. Maizell
Call Number: RC 489 .A38 S36 2002
ISBN: 093438715X
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
Leadership and Administration of Outdoor Pursuits by Ford; Jim Blanchard; Michael Strong; Phyllis M. Ford
Call Number: GV 181.5 .B553 2007
ISBN: 9781892132727
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Leadership in Recreation by Ruth V. Russell
Call Number: GV181.4 .R87 2001
ISBN: 0070123306
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Recreation Programming by Robert J. Rossman; Barbara Elwood Schlatter
Call Number: GV 181.43 .R67 2000
ISBN: 1571674772
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Risk Management in Outdoor and Adventure Programs by Aram Attarian
Call Number: LB 1047 .A77 2012
ISBN: 9781450404716
Publication Date: 2012-05-10

Finding Books & Ebooks

To search for books in the Garrett College Library on a topic, you will need to use the online catalog, which searches for materials owned and located in the library - including but not limited to books.

You may search by topic, title, or author's last name.

Find books on the following subjects in these call number sections:

GV1-199 Recreation

GV201-555 Physical Education and Training

GV557-1198 Sports

GV1199-1570 Games & Amusements

QP1-139 Physiology

RC1200-1245 Sports Medicine

Through the library, you have access to thousands of ebooks for free. You can either search the online catalog for them, or check out these databases:

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of science and technology. Full text. On-campus and off-campus.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Full text.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18,000 + e-books on wide variety of subjects. Full text. On- and off-campus.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Provides specialized encyclopedias, primary source documents, and collected literary criticism in print and online.
Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, cross-curricular reference source for college and college-prep libraries. Full text. On- or off-campus.

Your instructor may put material on reserve that is assigned reading.

You can find reserves at the Circulation Desk, just make sure you bring your student ID.

There is no time limit for most items, but some may not be allowed to leave the library.

Online Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Search the library collection for books, ebooks, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and course reserves.