Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fine & Performing Arts Internet Resources
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Comprehensive survey of art history from pre-history to the present with illustrations.
If you're looking for information on artists or art movements, Artcyclopedia is a great place to begin.
Art History Resources on the Web
A directory of online materials relating to art and art history in nine broad time/topical categories. Also provides links to museums and galleries as well as some info on prints and photography.
Works of art and biographies of artists online.
World Wide Arts Resources
Search artists, museums, galleries, antique dealers, theatres, and much more.
Khan Academy- Art History
Videos from the Khan Academy discussing different time periods of Art History.
Dance in Video
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Features 1200 titles from the pre-eminent theatre lists from Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints, as well as and Faber and Faber Ltd. Also includes 350 Audio plays from L.A. Theatre Works and 350 modern plays from Nick Hern Books. The platform now also includes video with 21 filmed theatrical performances from Shakespeare's Globe on Screen, 4 early modern drama performances from Stage on Screen, Maxine Peake's Hamlet and a six-hour acting masterclass.
Lost Plays Database
An open-access forum for information about lost plays from England that were originally written and performed between 1570 and 1642.
Musicals101- The Cyber Encyclopedia of Musicals
All aspects of musicals and musical theatre, including history, reviews, and performer images.
Open Source Shakespeare
Open Source Shakespeare is a free website containing Shakespeare's complete works.
Search for plays published by Dramatists Play Service
Theatre in Video
When complete, Theatre In Video will contain more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. As of February 2013, it contains 342 videos, equaling approximately 359 hours.
Type your keywords into Google and add the site: command, leaving a space between your words and the command. This will allow you to limit your web search to a specific domain. Only one domain can be searched at a time.
Copy and paste a command below to give it a try:
Use the CRAAP Test to Evaluate Web Sources
This test takes you through a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Keep in mind, the different quality measures will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.
Currency: How old is this information?
- When was the information published or posted?
- Has the information been revised or updated?
- Does your topic require current information?
- Are the links on the site functional?
Relevance: Does this information help me finish my assignment?
- Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
- Who is the intended audience?
- Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too easy or advanced for your needs)?
- Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is the one you will use?
Authority: Is whoever created this an expert on the subject?
- Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
- What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
- Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
- Does the URL (.edu/.gov/.com) reveal anything about the author or source?
Accuracy: How much can I trust this information?
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence?
- Has the information been reviewed or verified by someone other than the author?
- Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
- Are there spelling, grammar, or typing errors?
Purpose: Why was this information created?
- What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain, persuade?
- Is the information factual, opinion, or propaganda?
- Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
- Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?