LibGuides: History: Welcome

New History Books in the Library!

Milestone Documents in African American History, Revised Edition by Salem Press
Call Number: E184.6 .M55 2017
ISBN: 9781682175798
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
The Idea of Europe in British Travel Narratives, 1789-1914 by Katarina Gephardt
Call Number: PR756.T72 G48 2014
ISBN: 9781472429544
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Prisoners of Geography by Tim Marshall
Call Number: JC319 .M2744 2015
ISBN: 9781501121463
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
The History of the Idea of Europe by Jan Van der Dussen (Editor); Kevin Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: D1055 .B585 1995
ISBN: 0415124158
Publication Date: 1995-06-30

Library Catalog
Search the library collection for books, ebooks, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and course reserves.
Available Databases
Search our electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.
Credo InfoLit Modules
The materials on this resource have been designed to give you a foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; each includes videos, tutorials, and quizzes.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Periodical article index in general academic subject areas. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Full text.
Milestone Documents in American History This link opens in a new window
Combines 134 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary. Full text. On- or off-campus.
National Screening Room This link opens in a new window
The National Screening Room is a project of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The goal of this digital collection is to present to the widest audience possible movies from the Library's extensive holdings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Periodical articles from thousands of journals in education, business, science, psychology and many other disciplines. Now includes access to New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Full text. On- or off-campus.

****Only use browsers Firefox or Google Chrome****