Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library's Literature & Literary Criticism subject guide, a place for Garrett College students and faculty seeking information on these topics. For frequently used databases related to these fields, consult the Literature & Literary Criticism QuickLinks box. If you're searching for a particular type of resource, try choosing one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for books, articles, web materials, and more.
Search the library collection for books, ebooks, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and course reserves.
Search these electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.
The materials on this resource have been designed to give you a foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; each includes videos, tutorials, and quizzes.
Literature & Literary Criticism QuickLinks
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. Full text.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access to biographical and bibliographical information on writers from every era and literary discipline and critical analysis of their works. Full text. On- and off-campus.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Provides specialized encyclopedias, primary source documents, and collected literary criticism in print and online.