LibGuides: Math & Sciences: Welcome

Introduction

Welcome to the Library's Mathematics & Science subject guide, a place for Garrett College students and faculty seeking information on mathematics and the sciences. For frequently used databases related to these fields, consult the Mathematics & Science QuickLinks box. If you're searching for a particular type of resource, try choosing one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for books, articles, web materials, and more.

Library QuickLinks

Library Catalog
To search for books in the Garrett College Library on a topic, you will need to use the online catalog, which searches for materials owned and located in the library - including but not limited to books.

You may search by topic, title, or author's last name.
Available Databases
Search our electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.

Mathematics & Science QuickLinks

Academic Search Premier
Periodical article index in general academic subject areas. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Access Science
Online encyclopedia of science and technology. Full text. On-campus and off-campus.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Good for medical and health related journal articles.
ProQuest
Periodical articles from thousands of journals in education, business, science, psychology and many other disciplines. Now includes access to New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Full text. On- or off-campus.

****Only use browsers Firefox or Google Chrome****
Gale in Context: Science
Thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures, illustrations and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards. Full text. On- or off-campus.