The Backpacker's Field Manual, Revised and Updated
by
This thoroughly researched yet accessible backpacking book offers a complete view of backpacking today, exploring everything from how to plan a trip and select gear to emergency procedures and first-aid care in the field A revised, updated, and comprehensive guide to backpacking with a complete view of modern-day backpacking, The Backpacker's Field Manual covers the best in gear, first aid, and Leave No Trace camping, and also includes chapters dedicated to trip planning, cooking and nutrition, hygiene and water purification, and more. Whether you're about to set off on your first hike or have been camping for decades, The Backpacker's Field Manual is an indispensable guide for trip planning strategies and also works as a quick reference on the trail for: * Back-country skills: how to forecast the weather, identify trees, bear-proof your campsite, wrap an injured ankle, and more--with over one hundred illustrations to guide you * Tricks of the trail: time-tested practical lessons learned along the way * Going ultra-light: downsizing suggestions for those who want to lighten up Every traveler knows that space in a backpack is limited, so on your next trip, carry the only guide you'll ever need--this one--and take to the great outdoors with confidence.
Effective Leadership in Adventure Programming
by
Effective Leadership in Adventure Programming, Second Edition,will help students -understand the key elements of effective leadership in both theory and practice, -learn important leadership skills through real-world applications, and -explore new trends in adventure programming. Effective Leadership in Adventure Programming, Second Edition,explains how the key elements of leadership work in theory and practice, and it helps train the next generation of adventure leaders--training that is paramount to developing the field. Through this text, readers will enhance their understanding of this rapidly growing profession. Renowned authors Simon Priest and Michael Gass provide in-depth descriptions and real-world applications of the technical, organizational, instructional, and facilitative skills that are essential to adventure leadership. The authors also identify what they call the metaskills that superior leaders use to combine the other essential skills seamlessly and effectively. The authors provide fully updated content and references, including new information on legal liability, risk management skills, and future research trends in adventure programming. They also do the following: -Examine the historical and philosophical foundations of adventure programming -Provide safety and environmental guidelines that leaders should follow -Describe the organizational, instructional, and facilitation skills that outdoor adventure leaders should possess -Identify the importance of flexible leadership style, problem-solving and decision-making skills, experience-based judgment, effective communication, and ethical behaviors The first edition of this book set new levels of excellence in leadership in adventure programming. The second edition preserves the comprehensive and classic nature of the original while raising the standard for the field in the 21st century. The authors' skillful approach to integrating all aspects of effective outdoor adventure leadership makes this book an ideal text for adventure leadership and programming courses and an outstanding reference for practicing professionals.
Leave No Trace
by
Beyond cleaning up your trash and not cutting down trees for firewood, how far should you go to minimize your impact on wilderness lands? What is really important, and what is too extreme? Annette McGivney provides thoughtful answers based on scientific facts. She presents practical tips and techniques tailored for hikers, climbers, backcountry skiers, mountain bikers, equestrians, sea kayakers, canoeists, and rafters. And most importantly, there are tips for teaching Leave No Trace practices to children and others.
Mountaineering: The Freedom of the Hills
by
The latest edition of the classic guide to mountaineering describes fundamental climbing skills; discusses rock, snow, and ice climbing techniques; recommends clothing and equipment; gives advice on safety and first aid; and includes a new section on waterfall ice and mixed climbing. Simultaneous.
The Spirit of the Appalachian Trail
by
"Want to know what wilderness means to people who live it for over two thousand miles? Then read this extremely interesting, informative, intelligent, and thoughtful book." --Roger S. Gottlieb, author of Engaging Voices: Tales of Morality and Meaning in an Age of Global Warming "There is no doubt that Bratton's book will be of value to students and scholars of leisure studies, recreation, and religion. Those who are familiar with the Appalachian Trail sense intuitively that a journey along its length kindles spiritual awakening; this book provides the hard data to prove it's true." --David Brill, author of As Far as the Eye Can See: Reflections of an Appalachian Trail Hiker The Appalachian Trail covers 2,180 miles, passing through fourteen states from Georgia to Maine. Each year, an estimated 2-3 million people visit the trail, and almost two thousand attempt a "thru-hike," walking the entire distance of the path. For many, the journey transcends a mere walk in the woods and becomes a modern-day pilgrimage. In The Spirit of the Appalachian Trail: Community, Environment, and Belief, Susan Power Bratton addresses the spiritual dimensions of hiking the Appalachian Trail (AT). Hikers often comment on how their experience as thru-hikers changes them spiritually forever, but this is the first study to evaluate these religious or quasireligious claims critically. Rather than ask if wilderness and outdoor recreation have benefits for the soul, this volume investigates specifically how long-distance walking might enhance both body and mind. Most who are familiar with the AT sense intuitively that a trek along its length kindles spiritual awakening. Using both a quantitative and qualitative approach, this book provides the hard data to support this notion. Bratton bases her work on five sources: an exhaustive survey of long-distance AT hikers, published trail diaries and memoirs, hikers? own logs and postings, her own personal observations from many years on the trail, and conversations with numerous members of the AT community, including the "trail angels," residents of small towns along the path who attend to hikers? need for food, shelter, or medical attention. The abundant photographs reinforce the text and enable visualization of the cultural and natural context. This volume is fully indexed with extensive reference and notes sections and detailed appendixes. Written in an engaging and accessible style, The Spirit of the Appalachian Trail presents a full picture of the spirituality of the AT. Susan Power Bratton is professor of environmental studies. She is the author of Six Billion and More: Human Population Regulation and Christian Ethics, Environmental Values in Christian Art, and Christianity, Wilderness, and Wildlife: The Original Desert Solitaire.
The Survival
by
As we come to rely on technology in almost every aspect of our everyday lives, there is a large and ever-growing interest in how we would survive without the conveniences of the modern age. The Survival Book shows you not only how to adapt in such circumstances, but also how to thrive in the wilderness environment. Packed with specially commissioned, crystal-clear, step-by-step illustrations for every survival technique, from what to do if you meet a bear in the woods to how to navigate by the stars, this book also includes exciting stories of real-life survival-what happened, who survived, and how they did it.
Use the databases below to find eBooks available through the library. Many are free to read online or download with your college login. Some links may lead to books for purchase, so be sure to check for full-text availability.
Find books on the following subjects in these call number sections:
GV1-199 Recreation
GV201-555 Physical Education and Training
GV557-1198 Sports
GV1199-1570 Games & Amusements
QP1-139 Physiology
RC1200-1245 Sports Medicine
Your instructor may put material on reserve that is assigned reading.
You can find reserves at the Circulation Desk, just make sure you bring your student ID.
There is no time limit for most items, but some may not be allowed to leave the library.
Some links in these guides lead to external websites. While we strive to include accessible and reputable sources, we cannot guarantee the accessibility of external content.