Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library's Social & Behavioral Sciences subject guide, a place for Garrett College students and faculty seeking information on topics in psychology, criminal justice, sociology and political science. For frequently used databases related to these fields, consult the Social & Behavioral Sciences QuickLinks box. If you're searching for a particular type of resource, try choosing one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for books, articles, web materials, and more.
Search the library collection for books, ebooks, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and course reserves.
Search these electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.
The materials on this resource have been designed to give you a foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; each includes videos, tutorials, and quizzes.
Social & Behavioral Sciences QuickLinks
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Periodical article index in general academic subject areas. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
World's largest full text business database, covering virtually all subject areas related to business. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Good for medical and health related journal articles.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Periodical articles from thousands of journals in education, business, science, psychology and many other disciplines. Now includes access to New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Full text. On- or off-campus.
****Only use browsers Firefox or Google Chrome****
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Provides specialized encyclopedias, primary source documents, and collected literary criticism in print and online.