LibGuides: Statistics & Demographics: U.S. Statistics

General Statistics & Demographics

Data.Census.gov
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.
Data.gov
Data.gov is a U.S. government website launched in late May 2009 by the then Federal Chief Information Officer (CIO) of the United States, Vivek Kundra. Data.gov aims to improve public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Gallup Organization
A wealth of information from opinion polls, special reports, trends, and social audits from the nation's leading pollster.
Pew Research Center
Great non-profit "fact tank" that does many studies on topics ranging from journalism to religion to demographics to government
Statista
The world's largest statistical portal focused on businesses, industries, and media. Also includes infographics and charts.

***Please make sure you do not pay for anything - just use free services.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Discontinued in 2012, great resources for past demographic information about the US Population.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
One of the best places for crime and law enforcement statistics and reports. Provides data for everything related to crime and the justice system.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to Crime in the United States, an annual publication from the FBI that "compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies."
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Provides tables, reports, and other data from over a 100 different sources related to criminal justice. Includes data on arrests, crime victims, public opinion, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: Law Enforcement Statistics
Great source for US statistics related to the fields of law enforcement and crime.

National Center for Education Statistics
Main site to find all kinds of education related statistics and reports.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
An agency of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, which provides national, international, and regional economic data.
Economic Indicators
From the U.S. Council of Economic Advisers) Gross Domestic product, employment, money stock, consumer prices, interest, etc.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Find data and reports on demographic, economics, occupations, and more.
US Business and Industry Census
Economic surveys for business and industry created and compiled by the US Census. Data available at state, county and zip code level.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
World's largest full text business database, covering virtually all subject areas related to business. Full text. On- or off-campus.

CDC- National Center for Health Statistics
Great place to find statstics and reports about a wide variety of health and disease related topics.
State Health Facts- Kaiser Family
Interactive state level health statistics.

Google Public Data Explorer
Provides access to over a 100 data providers, allowing you to choose countries and datasets to create your own statistical analysis and comparisons in graph form.