LibGuides: Business & Entrepreneurship: Welcome

Introduction

This guide supports students in the Business & Information Technology (AS) and Business Administration (AA) programs, as well as anyone taking business or economics courses at the college.

Inside, you’ll find:

Recommended databases and journals for business and economics research
Tools for entrepreneurship, business planning, and small business management
Resources covering marketing, accounting, finance, and management
A dedicated section for economics, including macro/micro concepts and data sources
Links to career planning tools, company research, and industry news

Whether you’re writing a paper, preparing a presentation, developing a business plan, or exploring your future career path, this guide connects you to clear, credible, and student-friendly resources.

Have questions or need help? Reach out to your librarians. We’re here to support you!

Careers in Business & Economics

My Next Move
A student-friendly career matching tool. Explore careers by interest area or keyword.
O*NET OnLine
Browse career paths, salary data, skill sets, and job outlooks. Try searching “Marketing Manager,” “Accountant,” or “Entrepreneur.”
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Explore wages, job growth, and day-to-day duties for hundreds of careers, including business, finance, and management roles.

AASC Resume LibGuide
A guide to help you write, maintain, and improve your resume as a college student, and beyond.
Indeed Career Guide
Templates and articles on writing resumes, preparing for interviews, and understanding job listings.

SBA: Start Your Own Business
Step-by-step guidance on starting a small business. Ideal for students in BUS 289 or considering self-employment.
SCORE: Mentors to Small Business
Free mentoring and workshops for small business owners and entrepreneurs.

Business & Economics Quicklinks

Academic Search Premier
Broad coverage of academic topics, including business, economics, and finance.
Business Searching Interface
A special version of Business Source designed for focused searches. Great for locating reports on companies, industries, and markets.
Business Source Premier
In-depth business research including company profiles, SWOTs, industry and market reports, and scholarly articles.
ProQuest
Includes thousands of business and economics articles, plus major newspapers like The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times.

Library QuickLinks

Library Catalog
To search for books in the Garrett College Library on a topic, you will need to use the online catalog, which searches for materials owned and located in the library - including but not limited to books.

You may search by topic, title, or author's last name.
Available Databases
Search our electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.

Some links in these guides lead to external websites. While we strive to include accessible and reputable sources, we cannot guarantee the accessibility of external content.