Appalachia and Garrett County, MD History: Garrett County History

Website for Garrett County's Historical Society that features pictures, family genealogies, records, and early newspapers.

A series of 5 short (4 to 6 stop) walking tours of Oakland, each with a different theme.

Online tours of both the Transportation and Garrett County History Musuems narrated by Past President and local history guru Bob Boal.

Chronological history of Garrett County.

A searchable archive of back issues of the Garrett County Glades Star from 1941-2014. This is the result of a collaborative digitization effort between the Ruth Enlow Library of Garrett County and the Garrett County Historical Society, who contributed time and funding towards making this archive a reality. Scanning was conducted by the Internet Archive, using materials obtained from the Ruth Enlow Library. All materials are hosted on the Internet Archive.

Website for The Yoder House, a living history museum, that is modeled after the homes built in the mid-1700s by Yoder immigrants from Switzerland.
The House is located in in the Spruce Forest Artisan Village in Grantsville, Maryland.

To celebrate Garrett County's 150th anniversary, WHILBR, Western Maryland's Historical Library, compiled postcards of Garrett County from 1910 to 1960.

A searchable archive of back issues of the Garrett County Republican from 1877-2016. This is the result of a collaborative digitization effort between the Ruth Enlow Library of Garrett County, the Sincell Family, and the Garrett County Historical Society, all of whom contributed time and funding towards making this archive a reality. Scanning was conducted by the Maryland State Archive, using materials obtained from the Enoch Pratt Free Library. All materials are hosted on the Internet Archive.

Article by Harold L. Scott, Sr. that recounts the capture of Generals Crook and Kelley by Confederate officers in Cumberland, MD in February of 1865.

Article by Mary Reisinger that recounts the history of General George Crook, a western Maryland transplant who was known for his honest dealings with Native Americans in the West and his participation in the Civil War in the East.

General George Crook was a career United States Army officer, most noted for his distinguished service during the Civil War and the Indian Wars. The website focuses on his earlier involvement in the Indian Wars, and later, his advocation for the better treatment of Native Americans.

Article by Mary Reisinger about the history and legacy of Melchior J. (Melky) Miller, a Garrett County man who set up a distillery for rye whiskey in 1875.

Tri-fold map and information pamphlet that invites you to explore the areas and trails that Meshach Browning once inhabited.

Article describing Deep Creek Lake during the time Meshach Browning inhabited the area.

Historical site that focuses on preserving the legacy of Meshach Browning and helping others learn about him and pioneer-era of Garrett County through online and in-person exhibits and events.

Known as "The Father of Garrett County," Meshach Browning is Maryland's most celebrated hunter and frontiersman.

Article by Dan Whetzel that documents the life of Felix Robinson, a Garrett County native who embraced a variety of interests in the spirit of a Renaissance man throughout his lifetime.

Information about the quarterly magazine, Tableland Trails, that was devoted to the history, folklore, and cultural interests of the tri-state area. The magazine was founded, edited, and contributed to by Felix Robinson.

Article by Neal Brooks that delves into the history of the B&O railroads involvement in Garrett County.

The B&O’s history is comprised of the countless stories, lives, hopes, and achievements of the people who built and traveled on it. Features historic photographs, articles, and audio/video.

National Park Services biography of Garrett County's namesake John W. Garrett.

Article by Mary Reisinger that recounts the life and work of Garrett County namesake John W. Garrett and Frederick Volck, the sculptor he commissioned to create a bust of his likeness.

Compilation of Leo Beachy's photography, which features 2800 pictures taken from 1905 and 1927.