LibGuides: Education: Welcome

Introduction

Welcome to the Library's Education subject guide, a place for Garrett College students and faculty seeking information in the education or education-related fields. For frequently used databases related to this field, consult the Education QuickLinks box. If you're searching for a particular type of resource, try choosing one of the tabs at the top of the page to search for books, articles, web materials, and more.

Library QuickLinks

Library Catalog
Search the library collection for books, ebooks, magazines, DVDs, audiobooks, and course reserves.
Available Databases
Search these electronic collections of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). If you are accessing these databases off-campus, you will need log-in using your Garrett College username and password.
LibGuides
LibGuides are designed by librarians to help you do research and find library resources (books, ebooks, articles, journals, citation styles, etc.). Guides are provided by subject and by course when applicable. These were created to make it easy to use high quality, academic resources.
Credo Instruct
The materials on this resource have been designed to give you a foundation in information literacy and critical thinking. Topics have been divided among six modules; each includes videos, tutorials, and quizzes.

Education QuickLinks

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Periodical article index in general academic subject areas. Full text. On- or off-campus.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Full text. On-campus only.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. Abstracts. On- or off-campus.
National Screening Room This link opens in a new window
The National Screening Room is a project of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center. The goal of this digital collection is to present to the widest audience possible movies from the Library's extensive holdings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.