Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Web Resources
A program that partners with Maryland libraries, archives, historical societies, museums, and other institutions to digitize and provide free online access to materials relating to the state's history and culture.
Digital Public Library of America
Photographs, documents, audio-visual material, and books digitized and made available from Libraries around the United States.
The Historical Text Archive
Links to worldwide historical documents.
The History Channel
Provides informational and educational features on selected topics aired on the History Channel on television.
Historic Summary of Coal-Mine Explosions in the United States, 1810-1958
Review created by H.B. Humphrey in 1960, which lists and analyzes the coal mine explosions/accidents within the United States.
Provides access to "historical collections that exist in digital format." Includes "texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages."
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
"This online resource is compiled by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. With the participation of other libraries and archives, the program provides a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to American and international histories and cultures. These materials include documents, films, manuscripts, photographs and sound recordings."
Maryland Bureau of Mines Coal Division
"The Maryland Bureau of Mines is a Division of the Maryland Department of Environment; Land and Materials Administration; Mining Program. The mission of the Bureau is to protect the public and the environment from the potential impacts of active coal mining, and to promote the restoration and enhancement of active and pre-law abandoned coal mined lands through current mining activities, and the mitigation or improvement of pre-law coal mining impacted water resources."
Maryland Coal Mines
Brief history and some historic images of Western Maryland coal mines.
Maryland State Archives
". . .include colonial and State executive, legislative and judicial records; county court, land and probate records; business records; publications and reports of State, county and municipal governments; records of religious bodies; and special collections of maps, newspapers, photographs, and private papers."
Whilbr - Coal Talk
The Coal Talk Oral History project includes interview transcripts and audio, images, and artifacts that represent the men and women of the Western Maryland coal mine community.
World Digital Library
". . .makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world."
World Wide Web Virtual Library of History
Links to hundreds of sites on world history. Search by topic or by region.
Type your keywords into Google and add the site: command, leaving a space between your words and the command. This will allow you to limit your web search to a specific domain. Only one domain can be searched at a time.
Copy and paste a command below to give it a try:
Koontz Mine - Lonaconing, MD
Big Vein Sonny Mine - Lonaconing, MD
Ocean No. 8 Mine - Midland, MD