Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chesapeake Bay Region, 1607
Native Americans of Maryland - Web Resources
American Indians and the Bay
For native peoples, the Chesapeake Bay was a source of sustenance, a transportation lifeline, and a home.
American Indian Tribes Today
Lists and information on the American Indian tribes currently located in Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and the District of Columbia who identify as American Indian.
Baltimore American Indian Center
The Baltimore American Indian Center (BAIC) is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1968 with a mission to “assist and support American Indian and Alaskan Native families moving into an urban environment and adjusting to the culture change they will experience."
Chesapeake Bay Tribes and Cultures
List and brief history of the different Indian tribes that lived in the Chesapeake region and explains how their social, cultural, and political identities were extremely varied and complex.
Close Encounters of the First Kind, 1585-1767
Maryland State Archives Documents for the Classroom project provides images of original documents, maps, and drawings relating to Native Americans as well as a suggested reading list and a listing of Maryland museums and historic sites.
The first inhabitants of Maryland were Paleo-Indians who came more than 10,000 years ago from other parts of North America to hunt mammoth, great bison and caribou. By 1,000 B.C., Maryland had more than 8,000 Native Americans in about 40 different tribes. Most of them spoke Algonquian languages.
Glades Star - Native Man in Garrett County
In the March 1951 issue of "The Glades Star" there appeared an article by F. R. Corliss Jr. (County Surveyor) in which he reports a study made by the Carnegie Field Museum (Pittsburgh, Pa.) by their field archaeologist, Mayer-Oakes, and himself. This study centered in Indian sites along the Youghiogheny River at Sang Run and Friendsville. Native habitation in Garrett County was divided into five prehistoric time intervals, and one historic.
Great Indian War and Trading Path
Map of this historic route through the Northeast United States.
Harford County has a rich Indian legacy
Article in the Baltimore Sun detailing the Indian history of Maryland, including information on the Susquehannock and Massawomeck Indian Tribes.
History & Culture - Chesapeake Bay
Website for the Chesapeake State Park and the history and culture of its earliest inhabitants.
History of Native Americans in Maryland
Pratt Chat blog post by Amanda Hughes in regards to the history of Native Americans of Maryland.
Indians of the Eastern Shore of Maryland
Speck, Frank G. (Frank Gouldsmith), 1881-1950; Eastern Shore Society of Baltimore City
Indigenous Peoples of the Chesapeake
Article detailing the culture and day-to-day life of American Indians of the Chesapeake Bay region.
Infinity of Nations: Art and History in the Collections of the National Museum of the American Indian
New York's National Museum of the American Indian arts and objects exhibition that were largely curated by George Heye - a former Wall Street financier who had a passion for American Indian artifacts.
Maryland's Native American Tribes Struggle for State Recognition
News article by Emaun Kashfipour, Capital News Service (11.24.2011)
Maryland American Indian Sites and Experiences
List of American Indian sites in the state of Maryland.
Maryland at a Glance - Native Americans
Break down of the Algonquin, Iroquois, and Siouan groups located in Maryland.
Maryland Indigenous Tribes
The Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs (MCIA) - Maryland Indigenous Tribes Contact Information
Native Americans in Maryland: A Short History
Kreol International Magazine's provides a quick overall history of Native Americans in Maryland.
Native Americans of Maryland
List of many native bands, tribes, and confederacies that are currently or one point called Maryland home.
Captain John Smith's map of the Chesapeake region. A significant portion of the geographic and cultural information was communicated to Smith by the American Indians themselves.
Books & Ebooks
American Indians/American Presidents by
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
When the American colonies defeated Britain during the War for Independence, Native American leaders began to establish diplomatic relations with the new nation. Here, for the first time, is the little-known history of American Indians and American presidents, what they said and felt about one another, and what their words tell us about the history of the United States. Focused on major turning points in Native American history, these pages show how American Indians interpreted the power and prestige of the presidency, and advanced their own agenda for tribal sovereignty, from the age of George Washington to the present day. In addition to exploring a pantheon of Indian leaders, from Little Turtle to Robert Yellowtail, this book also provides new--and often unexpected--perspectives on the presidents. Thomas Jefferson, traditionally portrayed as the Indians' friend, emerges as a master of the art of Indian dispossession. Richard Nixon, long-tarnished by the Watergate scandal, was in reality a champion of tribal self-determination--a position that sprang, in part, from his Quaker origins. Using inaugural addresses, proclamations, Indian Agency records, private correspondence, memoirs, petitions, photographs, and objects from the collections of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, American Indians/American Presidents illuminates the relationship between these diverse leaders, the Native Americans' commitment to tribal self-determination, and the social, geographic, and political evolution of the United States over more than two centuries.
American Indians and the National Forests by
Publication Date: 2016-03-24
American Indians and National Forests tells the untold story of how the U.S. Forest Service and tribal nations dealt with sweeping changes in forest use, ownership, and management over the last century and a half. Indians and U.S. foresters came together over a shared conservation ethic on many cooperative endeavors; yet, they often clashed over how the nation's forests ought to be valued and cared for on matters ranging from huckleberry picking and vision quests to road building and recreation development. All national forest lands were once Indian lands. Tribes' modern-day interests in their ancestral lands run the gamut, from asserting treaty rights to hunt and fish to protecting their people's burial grounds and other sacred places to having a say in ecological restoration. Marginalized in American society and long denied a seat at the table of public land stewardship, American Indian tribes have at last taken their rightful place and are making themselves heard. Weighing indigenous perspectives on the environment is an emerging trend in public land management in the United States and around the world. The Forest Service has been a strong partner in that movement over the past quarter century.
The American Revolution in Indian Country by
Publication Date: 1995-04-28
This study presents a broad coverage of Indian experiences in the American Revolution rather than Indian participation as allies or enemies of contending parties. Colin Calloway focuses on eight Indian communities as he explores how the Revolution often translated into war among Indians and their own struggles for independence. Drawing on British, American, Canadian and Spanish records, Calloway shows how Native Americans pursued different strategies, endured a variety of experiences, but were bequeathed a common legacy as result of the Revolution.
Atlas of the North American Indian by
Call Number: E 77 .W195 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
"Combining clear, informative text with a wealth of maps and illustrations, this unique resource on native Americans offers comprehensive coverage in a single volume. History, culture, languages, and lifeways of American Indian groups across North America are included. This long-awaited revision has an appealing new design and incorporates many political and cultural developments, such as the creation of the Canadian territory Nunavut and Indian gaming, as well as new archaeological discoveries and theories. Also included are new and updated maps, a glossary, updated appendixes, and an expanded bibliography."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Farewell, My Nation by
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
The fully updated third edition of "Farewell, My Nation" considers the complex and often tragic relationships between American Indians, white Americans, and the U.S. government during the nineteenth century, as the government tried to find ways to deal with social and political questions about how to treat America's indigenous population. Updated to include new scholarship that has appeared since the publication of the second edition as well as additional primary source material Examines the cultural and material impact of Western expansion on the indigenous peoples of the United States, guiding the reader through the significant changes in Indian-U.S. policy over the course of the nineteenth century Outlines the efficacy and outcomes of the three principal policies toward American Indians undertaken in varying degrees by the U.S. government - Separation, Concentration, and Americanization - and interrogates their repercussions Provides detailed descriptions, chronology and analysis of the Plains Wars supported by supplementary maps and illustrations
The First Americans by
Call Number: E 61 .F56 1992
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
History, customs, mythology, and lore of the continent's first inhabitants are inter-woven in this rich new look at our Native American heritage. Lavishly illustrated with full-color photographs, paintings, drawings, and artifacts.
First Peoples by
Publication Date: 2018-09-19
Expertly authored by Colin G. Calloway, First Peoples has been praised for its inclusion of Native American sources and Calloway's concerted effort to weave Native perspectives throughout the narrative. Emphasizing the importance of primary sources, each chapter includes a document project and picture essay organized around important themes in the chapter. This distinctive approach continues to make First Peoples the bestselling and most highly acclaimed text for the American Indian history survey. Achieve Read & Practice is now available in dedicated version for this title. Students get the complete accessible, mobile e-book combined with the acclaimed LearningCurve adaptive quizzing--all for just $30 net to the bookstore. Achieve Read & Practice can also be packaged with any bound version of these titles for the price of the book alone--no additional cost.
Five Hundred Nations by
Publication Date: 1994-11-15
The story of Native American leaders, customs, political systems, and ways of life, this is American history from the Native American perspective: friendship, betrayal, war, and ultimately, the loss of homeland. A companion volume to the CBS series produced by Kevin Costner, Jack Leustig, and James Wilson scheduled to air in 1995. Illustrations & photos.
Foods of the Americas by
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
For many American Indians, food is more than sustenance--it is also of vital cultural significance. Salmon, buffalo, berries, acorns, quinoa, wild rice, tomatoes, chocolate, and especially corn--where these indigenous staples flourish, they have become a central part of Native American ceremonies and creation stories. This illuminating book, produced in association with the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian, celebrates the amazing diversity of the original foods of North, Central, and South America. Winner of a 2005 James Beard Award, Foods of the Americas highlights indigenous ingredients, traditional recipes, and contemporary recipes with ancient roots. Written by chef Fernando Divina and his wife, Marlene Divina (who is of Chippewa, Cree, and Assiniboine heritage), Foods of the Americas includes 140 modern recipes representing tribes and communities from all regions of the Americas.
Indians and English by
Call Number: E 59 .F53 K86 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-15
In this vividly written book, prize-winning author Karen Ordahl Kupperman refocuses our understanding of encounters between English venturers and Algonquians all along the East Coast of North America in the early years of contact and settlement. All parties in these dramas were uncertain--hopeful and fearful--about the opportunity and challenge presented by new realities. Indians and English both believed they could control the developing relationship. Each group was curious about the other, and interpreted through their own standards and traditions. At the same time both came from societies in the process of unsettling change and hoped to derive important lessons by studying a profoundly different culture. These meetings and early relationships are recorded in a wide variety of sources. Native people maintained oral traditions about the encounters, and these were written down by English recorders at the time of contact and since; many are maintained to this day. English venturers, desperate to make readers at home understand how difficult and potentially rewarding their enterprise was, wrote constantly of their own experiences and observations and transmitted native lore. Kupperman analyzes all these sources in order to understand the true nature of these early years, when English venturers were so fearful and dependent on native aid and the shape of the future was uncertain. Building on the research in her highly regarded book Settling with the Indians, Kupperman argues convincingly that we must see both Indians and English as active participants in this unfolding drama.
Indian Nations of North America by
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Walk with the indigenous people who settled North America —and with their descendants, whose more than 500 tribes range from the Arctic Circle across the Great Plains and to the Eastern Seaboard. Lakota, Cherokee, Navajo, Haida: these groups and many others are profiled in engaging entries and portrayed in magnificent images and maps that authentically evoke each tribe's history and character. Organized into eight geographical regions, this encyclopedic reference gives fascinating details about key tribes within each area: their beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances, interaction with nature, historic events, and more. Learn about the spiritual and cultural traditions of Native Americans across the continent...investigate how and when each tribe came into contact with Europeans, and how their lives changed. This is the definitive, insightful reference on Native Americans —captivating and informative for all who appreciate history, diverse cultures, stunning images, and the artistry of maps.
The Indian World of George Washington by
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
George Washington's place in the foundations of the Republic remains unrivalled. His life story - from his beginnings as a surveyor and farmer, to colonial soldier in the Virginia Regiment, leader of the Patriot cause, commander of the Continental Army, and finally first president of theUnited States - reflects the narrative of the nation he guided into existence. There is, rightfully, no more chronicled figure.Yet American history has largely forgotten what Washington himself knew clearly: that the new Republic's fate depended less on grand rhetoric of independence and self-governance and more on land - Indian land. Colin G. Calloway's biography of the greatest founding father reveals in full therelationship between Washington and the Native leaders he dealt with intimately across the decades: Shingas, Tanaghrisson, Guyasuta, Attakullakulla, Bloody Fellow, Joseph Brant, Cornplanter, Red Jacket, and Little Turtle, among many others. Using the prism of Washington's life to bring focus tothese figures and the tribes they represented - the Iroquois Confederacy, Lenape, Miami, Creek, Delaware - Calloway reveals how central their role truly was in Washington's, and therefore the nation's, foundational narrative.Calloway gives the First Americans their due, revealing the full extent and complexity of the relationships between the man who rose to become the nation's most powerful figure and those whose power and dominion declined in almost equal degree during his lifetime. His book invites us to look atAmerica's origins in a new light. The Indian World of George Washington is a brilliant portrait of both the most revered man in American history and those whose story during the tumultuous century in which the country was formed has, until now, been only partially told.
National Geographic the Indian Wars by
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
From Lakota warrior Crazy Horse to legendary Geronimo of the Apache Wars, this sweeping history of the American West tells the story of those who defended Native American lands--and the Native American way of life--from the 1850s through the end of the nineteenth century. This majestic narrative reveals little-known tales of Native American history, setting each event in the larger historical context of the transformation of the West. In elegant National Geographic style, hundreds of illustrations, maps, photographs, and artwork lay bare the bloody conflicts between Native Americans and European encroachment. Five stirring chapters reveal the five major types of conflicts involving Native Americans: the wars of resistance, the wars between empires, the wars betweeen the tribes, the wars of conquest, and the wars of survival. Within each chapter, vivid accounts of each battle tell the gripping stories of the major players, the point of combustion, and the tragic results. Readers will also get to know each tribe as distinct people, ranging from the so-called "civilized tribes" to the more aggressive warrior cultures. Rarely seen photographs and illustrations paint a vivid portrait of the time, featuring such notable figures as Kit Carson and Sitting Bull. Filled with original National Geographic maps, informative timelines, and a complete index, this extraordinary book captures one of the most significant moments in American history.
The Native American Experience by
Call Number: E 77 .W44 2010
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
A visual guide to Native American history examines the experiences of tribes from coast to coast and their influence on the development of North America, in a volume that features removable facsimiles of rare historical documents in pockets throughout text.
Native Americans State by State by
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Native Americans State by State details the history of the tribes associated with every state of the Union and the provinces of Canada, from past to present. Each state entry contains its own maps and timeline. The 2010 census identified 5.2 million people in the United States as American Indian or Alaskan Natives--less than 2% of the overall population of nearly 309 million. In Canada, the percentage is 4%--1.1 million of a total population of around 34 million. Most of these people live on reservations or in areas set aside for them in the nineteenth century. The numbers are very different from those in the sixteenth century, when European colonists brought disease and a rapacious desire for land and wealth with them from the Old World. While estimates vary considerably, it seems safe to estimate the native population as being at least 10 million. Ravaged by smallpox, chicken pox, measles, and what effectively amounted to genocide, this number had fallen to 600,000 in 1800 and 250,000 in the 1890s. Those who were left often had been moved many miles away from their original tribal lands. Native Americans State by State is a superb reference work that covers the history of the tribes, from earliest times till today, examining the early pre-Columbian civilizations, the movements of the tribes after the arrival of European colonists and their expansion westwards, and the reanimation of Indian culture and political power in recent years. It covers the area from the Canadian Arctic to the Rio Grande--and the wide range of cultural differences and diverse lifestyles that exist. Illustrated with regional maps and a dazzling portfolio of paintings, photographs, and artwork, it provides a dramatic introduction not only to the history of the 400 main tribes, but to the huge range of American Indian material culture.
Native American Studies in Higher Education by
Publication Date: 2002-03-04
In this collection, Champagne and Stauss demonstrate how the rise of Native studies in American and Canadian universities exists as an extraordinary achievement in higher education. In the face of historically assimilationist agendas and institutional racism, collaborative programs continue to grow and promote the values and goals of sovereign tribal communities. In twelve case studies, the authors provide rich contextual histories of Native programs, discussing successes and failures and battles over curriculum content, funding, student retention, and community collaborations. It will be a valuable resource for Native American leaders, and educators in Native American studies, race and ethnic studies, comparative education, anthropology, higher education administration and educational policy.
Native Universe by
Call Number: E 77 .N365 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The Smithsonian's new National Museum of the American Indian will be the last museum to be built on the National Mall and its opening will be a major, national media event. To commemorate the opening, the National Geographic Society has collaborated with the museum's curators and advisers to produce a lavishly illustrated, comprehensive volume based on major themes relevant to American Indian peoples. Written by a distinguished group of Native American scholars, poets, activists, and tribal leaders, the book will offer its non-Indian readers a closer understanding of Native perspectives, beliefs, and histories. The real power of this volume rests with its power to communicate firsthand the experiences, observations, and intellectual concepts of the hemisphere's indigenous peoples, who demonstrate that their ancient philosophies and folkways are integral, valuable, and still apply in modern times.
New Worlds for All by
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The interactions between Indians and Europeans changed America--and both cultures. Although many Americans consider the establishment of the colonies as the birth of this country, in fact early America existed long before the arrival of the Europeans. From coast to coast, Native Americans had created enduring cultures, and the subsequent European invasion remade much of the land and society. In New Worlds for All, Colin G. Calloway explores the unique and vibrant new cultures that Indians and Europeans forged together in early America. The journey toward this hybrid society kept Europeans' and Indians' lives tightly entwined: living, working, worshiping, traveling, and trading together--as well as fearing, avoiding, despising, and killing one another. In some areas, settlers lived in Indian towns, eating Indian food. In the Mohawk Valley of New York, Europeans tattooed their faces; Indians drank tea. A unique American identity emerged. The second edition of New Worlds for All incorporates fifteen years of additional scholarship on Indian-European relations, such as the role of gender, Indian slavery, relationships with African Americans, and new understandings of frontier society.
North, South, East, West by
Call Number: E 98 .M34 B65 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Vibrant photographs and moving quotes give tangible expression to a rich heritage of Native American beliefs and customs, and demonstrate how Native groups maintain viable cultures within modern-day America.
Social Change by
Publication Date: 2013-08-30
From the Stone Age to the Internet Age, this book tells the story of human sociocultural evolution. It describes the conditions under which hunter-gatherers, horticulturalists, agricultural states, and industrial capitalist societies formed, flourished, and declined. Drawing evidence from archaeology, ethnography, linguistics, historical documents, statistics, and survey research, the authors trace the growth of human societies and their complexity, and they probe the conflicts in hierarchies both within and among societies. They also explain the macro-micro links that connect cultural evolution and history with the development of the individual self, thinking processes, and perceptions. Key features of the text Designed for undergraduate and graduate social science classes on social change and globalization topics in sociology, world history, cultural geography, anthropology, and international studies. Describes the evolution of the modern capitalist world-system since the fourteenth century BCE, with coverage of the rise and fall of system leaders: the Dutch in the seventeenth century, the British in the nineteenth century, and the United States in the twentieth century. Provides a framework for analyzing patterns of social change. Includes numerous tables, figures, and illustrations throughout the text. Supplemented by framing part introductions, suggested readings at the end of each chapter, an end of text glossary, and a comprehensive bibliography. Offers a web-based auxiliary chapter on Indigenous North American World-Systems and a companion website with excel data sets and additional web links for students.
Survival Skills of the North American Indians by
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
This comprehensive review of Native American life skills covers collecting and preparing plant foods and medicines; hunting animals; creating and transporting fire; and crafting tools, shelter, clothing, utensils, and other devices. Step-by-step instructions and 145 detailed diagrams enable the reader to duplicate native methods using materials available in local habitats. A new foreword, introduction, and index complement the practical information offered.
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by
Call Number: E 76.2 .U85 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
An updated version of this award-winning set (originally published in 1998) offers in-depth historical, cultural, and current information on 107 Native American groups. Organized by region, each entry features a locator map, a fact box (origin of name, location, population, language family), a chronology, and information under the following subheads: introduction, history, religion, language, buildings, subsistence, clothing and adornment, healing practices, customs, oral literature, current tribal issues, and short biographies. This title brings together a vast array of information on these tribes that allows for a holistic profile of each group.
The Victory with No Name by
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
In 1791, General Arthur St. Clair led the United States army in a campaign to destroy a complex of Indian villages at the Maumee River in northwestern Ohio. Almost within reach of their objective, St. Clair's 1,400 men were attacked by about one thousand Indians. The U.S. force was decimated, suffering nearly one thousand casualties in killed and wounded, while Indian casualties numbered only a few dozen. But despite the lopsided result, it wouldn't appear to carry much significance; it involved only a few thousand people, lasted less than three hours, and the outcome, which was never in doubt, was permanently reversed a mere three years later. Neither an epic struggle nor a clash that changed the course of history, the battle doesn't even have a name. Yet, as renowned Native American historian Colin Calloway demonstrates here, St. Clair's Defeat--as it came to be known-- was hugely important for its time. It was both the biggest victory the Native Americans ever won, and, proportionately, the biggest military disaster the United States had suffered. With the British in Canada waiting in the wings for the American experiment in republicanism to fail, and some regions of the West gravitating toward alliance with Spain, the defeat threatened the very existence of the infant United States. Generating a deluge of reports, correspondence, opinions, and debates in the press, it produced the first congressional investigation in American history, while ultimately changing not only the manner in which Americans viewed, raised, organized, and paid for their armies, but the very ways in which they fought their wars. Emphasizing the extent to which the battle has been overlooked in history, Calloway illustrates how this moment of great victory by American Indians became an aberration in the national story and a blank spot in the national memory. Calloway shows that St. Clair's army proved no match for the highly motivated and well-led Native American force that shattered not only the American army but the ill-founded assumption that Indians stood no chance against European methods and models of warfare. An engaging and enlightening read for American history enthusiasts and scholars alike, The Victory with No Name brings this significant moment in American history back to light.
The Way of the Warrior by
Call Number: E 81 .W39 1993
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
History, customs, mythology, and lore of the continent's first inhabitants are inter-woven in this rich new look at our Native American heritage. Lavishly illustrated with full-color photographs, paintings, drawings, and artifacts.
Why We Serve by
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Rare stories from more than 250 years of Native Americans' service in the military Why We Serve commemorates the 2020 opening of the National Native American Veterans Memorial at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, the first landmark in Washington, DC, to recognize the bravery and sacrifice of Native veterans. American Indians' history of military service dates to colonial times, and today, they serve at one of the highest rates of any ethnic group. Why We Serve explores the range of reasons why, from love of their home to an expression of their warrior traditions. The book brings fascinating history to life with historical photographs, sketches, paintings, and maps. Incredible contributions from important voices in the field offer a complex examination of the history of Native American service. Why We Serve celebrates the unsung legacy of Native military service and what it means to their community and country.
Wise Women by
Call Number: E 98 .W8 W57 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-18
Illustrated with archival photographs, and encompassing twenty states-from Florida to Washington, Alaska to Maine-and many different tribes, this book brings together the lesser known stories of the Native American women who shaped their cultures and changed the course of American history.